2013 Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival Winners

More than 75,000 people flocked the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) duringSana Dati the 10-day run of the 2013 Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival. Hailed as cinesthesia, synergy of the senses, 25 films that include 10 entries for New Breed Short Features, 5 films for Directors Showcase and 10 films for New Breed Full Length category have graced the theaters of the CCP, Greenbelt 3, Trinoma and Alabang Town Center from July 27 to August 4, 2013.

Sana Dati won most of the awards for the Directors Showcase consisting of Audience Choice Awards, Best Sound, Orginal Music Score, Best Editing, Best Production Design, Best Cinematography, Best Supporting Actor (TJ Trinidad), Best Director (Jerrold Tarog) and Best Film.

Transit hauled most of the awards for the New Breed Full Length category withTransit Audience Choice Award, Best Cinematography, Special Jury Citation for Ensemble Acting, NetPAC Award, Best Supporting Actress (Jasmine Curtis-Smith), Best Actress (Irma Adlawan), Best Director (Hannah Espia) and Best Film.

The Star for All Seasons, Vilma Santos, won Best Actress for the Directors Showcase category. However, there was no Best Actor award for the same category given this year.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Audience Choice Award:     Taya
Best Screenplay:     My Houseband’s Wife
Special Cinemalaya Citation:     Sa Wakas
Special Jury Prize:     Taya
Best Film:     My Houseband’s Wife

Best Sound:     Roger TJ Ladro, Sana Dati
Best Original Score:     Jerrold Tarog, Sana Dati
Best Editing:     Pats R. Ranyo, Sana Dati
Best Production Design:      Ericson Navarro, Sana Dati
Best Cinematography:      Mackie Galvez, Sana Dati
Best Screenplay:     Zig Dulay, Antoinette Jadaone and Jeffrey Jeturian, Ekstra
Best Supporting Actor:     TJ Trinidad, Sana Dati
Best Supporting Actress:     Ruby Ruiz, Ekstra
Best Actress:     Vilma Santos, Ekstra
Special Jury Prize:     Ekstra
NetPAC (Network for Promotion of Asian Cinema) Special Award:    Ekstra
Best Director:      Jerrold Tarog, Sana Dati
Best Film:     Sana Dati

Best Sound:     Michael Idioma, Quick Change
Best Original Score:     Mon Espia, Transit
Best Editing:     Benjamin Tolentino and Hannah Espia, Transit
Best Production Design:     Roy Red, Rekorder
Best Cinematography:     Ber Cruz and Lyle Nemenzo Sacris, Transit
Best Screenplay:     Eduardo Roy Jr., Quick Change
Best Supporting Actor:     Joey Paras, Babagwa
Best Supporting Actress:    Jasmine Curtis Smith, Transit
Best Actor:     Mimi Juareza, Quick Change
Best Actress:      Irma Adlawan, Transit
Special Jury Citation for Ensemble Acting:      Transit Casts
Special Jury Prize:     Quick Change
NetPAC Award:     Transit
Best Director:     Hannah Espia, Transit
Best Film:     Transit

The deadline for the submission of entries for the Directors Showcase and New Breed Full Length categories for the 2014 Cinemalaya Festival is scheduled on September 13, 2013.

About myplanetphilippines

Jakeson Florido is working for a Fortune 500 company engaging in engineering and technology. Writing is his passion. Nature, culture and heritage conservation is his advocacy. He is a traveler wannabe and also speaks and writes in three major Philippine dialects.Follow him on twitter @myplanetph or his Facebook Fan Page My Planet Philippines. You can also find him at Google+.
This entry was posted in Film and Theater and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Follow Me


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: